R.G. Riles Salutes Startups and Burritos

Why do we do what we do?  It’s an open ended question that could apply to your daily job, your daily routines, or most anything.

This evening, however, I wanted to share a blog that I follow, which has brought a lot of inspiration to me.  The blog is the Burritos and Startups Blog, by Ethan Austin, and I’m specifically sharing one of his less decorated posts, which is still profound all the same.

An Open Letter To Artists by Ethan Austin.

The answer to why we do what we do, in the art world, in the blogosphere… is simply because you never know who you’re going to reach, what your content is going to mean to that individual, and what they might say that could just make your day.

“On the flip side, if you’re somebody who has enjoyed, appreciated, or benefitted from a piece of art that someone has shared with you, let them know how you feel.  Chances are they had no idea their work had any impact, and your note will make their day.”

Ethan’s absolutely right.  You don’t see any advertisements on my blog – only sharing of some of my “art”, and sharing of what inspires me.  Hearing back from the readers is truly exhilirating to me, which is why I’m typing away when I know full well I should be in bed!

Love What You Do

What’s the point?  The point is to say thank you for those who follow, read, comment, share… and for those who create.  Keep doing what you’re doing if you love it.  If you don’t love it, find something you do love, and do the heck out of it!!!

Remember that time may well be money, but no amount of money will buy back time that is squandered.  There are only so many grains of sand in our hour glasses, so should we not spend as many of those grains as possible doing and sharing the things we love?

Yes, we should.

-R.G. Riles

2 comments

  1. Wow, this totally made my day. Especially ove this line: “Keep doing what you’re doing if you love it. If you don’t love it, find something you do love, and do the heck out of it!!!”

    Thank you, sir for your kind words.

    1. More than welcome. Huge fan of your blog and if I can be half as successful as you in my endeavors, I’ll be a happy guy. Let me know if you guys ever make it to Central Valley, California! -R.G.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 820 other followers

