Creatively Entrepreneurial Contest Week 2 – We’re Freelancers & Gurus

Okay, folks, there was only one comment on last week’s Creatively Entrepreneurial post.  Therefore, Nate Wells of Idaho is the only entrant thus far, in the drawing for the iPad and two iPod Touches.  Reminder, the drawing will be held on July 4, 2013.

This week’s topic?  It’s near and dear to my heart.  Until you become an official business, and you have official sales, to official customers, and have established your official niche – you are essentially caught in entrepreneurial purgatory.  You’re not stagnant, nor are you a full-fledged business.  You are, say it with me, a FREELANCER, or a GURU!

Terrible Movie, Great for the Guru Concept

The Love Guru – yes, a terrible movie but it does make a point, no?
Photo Credits to Mike Meyers and WorstPreviews.com

I myself utilize Guru.com to land occasionally marketing and social media jobs, while R.G. Riles Co. tries to find and establish it’s niche in this market.  In fact, shamelessly, here is the link to my Guru profilehttp://www.guru.com/freelancers/Ad-Concepts-Advertising-Manager-Communications-Expert-Brand-Consultant-Publication-Production/California/Fresno/1504789

While my team and I establish our niche, we’ll take the odds and ends jobs and perfect the art of working together to create a product that the client is happy with.

This week’s Creatively Entrepreneurial Question is simple.

What did YOU do, or what DO you do, to get your first clients, establish your team, and establish your market and your niche in said market?

As we laid out the rules last week, here they are once more:

Between now and Thursday of the following week, you comment your answers, then on next Friday’s Creatively Entrepreneurial Question post, I put some of my favorite answers up in a pole for you to vote throughout the following week.  The winner each week will be entered into a drawing, to occur on July 4, 2013, where I will be giving away some glamorous prizes!

One lucky winner will be shipped an iPad!

Win an iPad on rgriles.wordpress.com

Your iPad Won’t be as HUGE and AWESOME as this, but you’ll like it :)
Photo Credit: freeipads4u.com

Two lucky winners will be shipped an iPod Touch.

The 2nd entrant into the drawing will be revealed 2 weeks from today, or July 20, 2012.  Remember, unless there are an inordinate number of ties, this means the winners will have roughly at least a 3 in 50 chance of winning

Happy Friday everyone!!!

-R.G. Riles

8 comments

  1. I have found the most success with referrences. Although I have occasionally found success in landind clients via a web service of some kind, meeting potential clients at events and/or functions have been far more successful. I’ve spoken with many small biz owners & they have reiterrated my findings. Referrals are key.

    1. Absolutely, Mr. Dingo! Referrals are the best way to secure work. However, when you have a skill set and not a pure focus just yet, do you go about trying to do all kinds of work and figure what you and your team are best at? Or do you establish what you believe to be your niche first, then selectively seek opportunities?

  2. Do you really want my feeback? No problem, I won’t wait to hear from you~ and that is my experience in sales.

    You have to go out there and be seen at conferences, belong to different groups and go to all the meetings, you have to be everywhere. Call and follow up and follow up and call. Get to know the names of important contacts, It almost feels like stalking…

    I’m exhausted thinking about it. Now days it’s honing in(is that correct?) on one big customer, find out everything about them, when and where there conferences are or where they’ll be attending an event. I will use an upcoming event of theirs in my subject line to at least get their attention. Sometimes it could take years to land the big one but when you do…well I have time to sit here and write this don’t I :-)

    P.S
    Well I don’t have to tell you what kind of service I give after they come to the “bright side”. I love my customers and my job that is probably the best advise of all!!

    1. Debbie – I appreciate the comment and, yes, I get exhausted just thinking about the way you hustle to get things done for your customers and I can imagine all that you went through to become the successful salesperson that you are today. You don’t have to read too far in this blog to come across statements about loving what you do… that’s one of the themes of this blog, and certainly one of the themes I am working towards in my career. Fantastic comments and I appreciate you taking the time to read and comment.

  3. Do you mind if I quote a couple of your articles as long as
    I provide credit and sources back to your weblog? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would genuinely benefit from a lot of the information
    you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you.

    Regards!

    1. Please, go ahead and quote to your heart’s content. If you don’t mind leaving a link to my blog, that is! Thanks Captcha.

  4. Well, I’m kind of in the process of establishing myself, but I have done a few things to start on the right track. First, I make sure to have self respect. Some people can be pretty harsh. Second, I started a blog about things I love to do. People like to see passion. Then, I found people that liked what I was trying to achieve. Just get your name out and try to be friends with everyone. I don’t believe in ads. I believe in marketing to an audience that knows what you do and are familiar with you.

    Good Job with this blog R.G.!

    1. Thank you, Nate. Self respect is something that is going by the wayside in business today. I see a lot of people selling their souls out there. People love to see passion – if you have passion for something, you need to do it and you need to share it! Great comments. I don’t necessarily agree with not advertising, but I know where you are coming from!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 819 other followers

