Speaking to Students About Engineering, College, Infrastructure, and Technology

Okay, so old R.G. is living a double life of sorts. I’m really known as a Civil Engineer, under my given name and not this pseudonym… Well, I received some mail the other day and it inspired me to tell you this story and share a bit.

On Friday, February 24th, I made the first visit of many that I plan to make to local schools to talk about engineering, infrastructure, technology, the importance of education, how to prepare for college, what to expect when you get there, and what to expect when you graduate. This particular class was an AVID class (Advancement Via Individual Determination), with a mixture of 6th-8th graders atUniversity Charter School inLemoore, California. (Mrs. Anna Salgado’s Class).

I plan to get back to the school for some more focused presentations, and to reach out to other schools in the region to volunteer my time to do the same. My wife, “Mrs. Riles”, substitute teaches for Fresno and Clovis Unified School Districts, and is already garnering interest in getting this message in front of students at other schools.

Anyhow, I received over 20 thank you letters and I have attached some jpg’s of the most interesting / funny / hilarious notes. They get funnier as you get towards the end.

NOTE:  CLICK THE PHOTOS TO SEE FULL-SIZE.  #9 AND #10 ARE JUST AWESOME… THEY’RE ALL AWESOME, BUT ESPECIALLY THOSE, HAHAHA!

Leave a Reply

