The Midas Touch – Part 1 of 5 – Discussion of Key Points of Book by Donald Trump and Robert Kiyosaki

Without even reading the first book that Robert Kiyosaki and Donald Trump wrote together, titled Why We Want You to be Rich (2006), this 2nd collaboration, entitled Midas Touch:  Why Some Entrepreneurs Get Rich – and why Most Don’t (2011), was recommended to me by a fellow friend /entrepreneur.  The book proved to be packed with terrific anecdotes, examples, and actual information about what could help propel a smart person with big ideas into more than just a statistic (statistically speaking, approximately 9 of 10 startups fail within 5  years).

Now, this is part 1 of 5.  I have posted below the two videos, which are an introduction to the book, and then discussion of the first chapter.  I recommend watching the intro first (it is brief), so that you’re not lost when the commentary starts in the 2nd video.

*All but the final part of this series are already recording, but I will post them one grouping at a time as I’m still processing the audio on the other videos.  The audio could be better.  My apologies.  For future book reviews, I’ll have a mic close to me… to avoid sounding like I was talking in a canyon, I had to process the audio a bit, and there’s a bit of “warble” to it, but it does sound much better.

Without further adieu, I present to you the first of many R.G. Riles books reviews/discussions on the topics of finance, startups, etc:

Video 1.  Intro to Midas Touch:  Why Some Entrepreneurs Get Rich – and Why Most Don’t

Video 2.  The Thumb = Strength of Character

Topics discussed include:

  • Book Intro
  • What each finger of the Midas Touch represents
  • Examples of Perseverance
  • Discussion of Character and Strength of Character
  • Intro to the Seven Intelligences, including the Most Important (credit to Howard Gardner)
  • Intrapersonal Intelligence and Positive Self Talk
  • Past Challenges Overcome by the Authors

The audio could be better.  My apologies.  For future book reviews, I’ll have a mic close to me… to avoid sounding like I was talking in a canyon, I had to process the audio a bit, and there’s a bit of “warble” to it, but it does sound much better.

As always – I want this to be something you want to read/see on a regular basis.  I cannot achieve that without your comments and questions so, please, bring them on!!!!  Also, please check out all the links on the right-hand side of the blogspace!  Mucho gracias!

Leave a Reply

